Vocal Obsession: Caissie Levy

In light of the very exciting announcement that this woman is slated to play Elsa in the upcoming Broadway adaptation of Disney’s Frozen, I thought I’d share my love for the insane talent that is Caissie Levy.

image

The Broadway and West End star rose to centre stage through understudying Elphaba in Wicked on the Great White Way before leading the Los Angeles company in 2008. Since then she’s starred as Shelia in Hair, Fantine in Les Miserables, created Molly in Ghost the Musical on both sides of the Atlantic, in addition to releasing her stunning EP, “With You”. As well as having one of my favourite female voices in the industry, this woman always comes across as having such a dedicated work ethic that you can’t help but fall in love with her – and I can’t wait to finally (hopefully) see her in Frozen next year! Here’s 5 examples (the song titles lead to the videos) that encapsulates the endless talent this remarkable woman is capable of:

“Nothing Stops Another Day” from Ghost the Musical
I’m gutted I missed her in this role she created in London’s West End and then on Broadway, she was the STAR and rightfully so – the music was made for her voice! Perfection!

“Kiss the Air” by Scott Alan
One of my favourite composers Scott Alan writes the most emotional, poignant material and Levy does this beautiful song so much justice here!

“Only a Fairytale” by Heitzman & Reid
I love this song, and Levy is on top form as per!

“I’m Not That Girl” (EP Version) from Wicked
Levy IS Elphaba. Simple as that. If time machines were a thing one of the first places I would go is Los Angeles sometime from January to May 2008 when Levy was starring alongside my favourite Glinda Megan Hilty. I would not be able to function!!

“Let it Go”/”Let it Be”
Could not end without the song she’s going to soon be performing 8 times a week on Broadway. Here she pokes fun at it in a clever mash-up. The most perfect casting ever!

Levy stars in the Denver try-out of Frozen this summer ahead of its Broadway premiere in spring 2018. Her EP “With You” is available now. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

