Updated: My Top 15 Musicals (So Far..)

So this is an important list, right?! Ok so let’s get one thing straight, this was bloody hard! Considering I’m pretty much obsessed with every show I’ve seen or am aware of. But after a lot of hard thinking I’ve narrowed it down to my Top 15! Not to mention this order is rough, it may change slightly day to day depending on how I’m feeling but the shows on this list are my selection of the best of the best. I also want to include the following honourable mentions that I couldn’t – but wish I could have –  fit into this list; these include (but not limited to) I Can’t Sing! The X-Factor Musical, The Bodyguard, Ragtime, Into the Woods, Hamilton, Love Never Dies, Beautiful – The Carole King Musical, Matilda, Jesus Christ Superstar, Something Rotten!, School of Rock, Finding Neverland …I could go on…

So here it is! My all-time favourite musicals so far! Each one of these shows have touched me in a way that when I watch, and continue to support the works, they continue to shock, inspire and remind me how fucking incredible this art form is! (But honestly, I pretty much love everything!)

 

15 – The Girls
Book: Tim Firth / Music and Lyrics: Gary Barlow
4

 

14 – Newsies
Book: Harvey Fierstein / Lyrics: Jack Feldman / Music: Alan Menken
"Newsies" Broadway Opening Night

 

13 – Kinky Boots
Book: Harvey Fierstein / Music and Lyrics: Cyndi Lauper8-Kinky-Boots-London

 

12 – Jekyll and Hyde
Book: Leslie Bricusse / Music and Lyrics: Frank Wildhorn with Leslie Bricusse, Steve Cuden
1.186165

 

11 – Bonnie and Clyde
Book: Ivan Menchell / Lyrics: Don Black / Music: Frank Wildhorn
bonnie_clyde_musical_a_h

 

10 – Show Boat
Book and Lyrics: Oscar Hammerstein II / Music: Jerome Kern
353482_770_preview

 

9 – The Phantom of the Opera
Book: Andrew Lloyd Webber, Richard Stilgo / Lyrics: Charles Hart / Music: Andrew Lloyd Webber
phantom-of-the-opera-broadway

 

8 – Next to Normal
Book and Lyrics: Brian Yorkey / Music: Tom Kitt
next-to-normal-3

 

7 – The Last Five Years
Book, Music and Lyrics: Jason Robert Brown
The-last-five-years_JoanMarcus.jpg.644x429_q100

 

6 – Les Miserables
Book and Lyrics: Alan Boubil, Herbet Kreztmer / Music: Claude-Michel Schonberg
d755b9d37df27d5b1fa7e92e836b073f.600x320x1

 

5 – Memphis
Book: Joe DiPietro / Lyrics: David Bryan, Joe DiPietro / Music: David Bryan
299000_770_preview

 

4 – In the Heights
Book: Quiara Alegría Hudes / Music and Lyrics: Lin-Manuel Miranda
2-In-The-Heights-London-2015

 

3 – RENT
Book, Music and Lyrics: Jonathan Larson
renttour007

 

2 – Shrek The Musical
Book and Lyrics: David Lindsay-Abaire / Music: Jeanine Tesori
photo10

 

 

1 – Wicked
Book: Winnie Holzman / Music and Lyrics: Stephen Schwartz
9df0153cf1d492a81b44eb8603246f0f

Leave a Reply

